

## **Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability**

## **REGULAR MEETING MINUTES**

October 24, 2017, 1:30 P.M.
Pruitt Suite, 3<sup>rd</sup> Floor Student Center
Oklahoma State University-Oklahoma City, 900 N. Portland Ave.
Oklahoma City, OK 73107

**COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT:** Amy Bixler, Doug Brown, Bruce Day, Dr. Bo

Hannaford and Dr. Mylo Miller

**COMMISSION MEMBERS ABSENT**: Secretary of Education Natalie Shirley

**OTHER REGULAR ATTENDEES:** Office of Educational Quality and Accountability

Staff: Dr. Daniel Craig, Angie Bookout, Jennifer Gambrell, Renee Launey-Rodolf, Abby Murphey,

Lecrecia Schmidt and Jerry Shay

**VISITORS:** Melissa Michie, Oklahoma State Regents for Higher

Education

**Call to Order:** Dr. Bo Hannaford called the meeting to order at 1:33 P.M.

**Introduction of Commission Members and Roll Call:** Dr. Bo Hannaford asked for the roll call to be taken. Five Commission members were present, and it was established that a quorum existed.

**Welcome from Dr. Daniel Craig:** Dr. Daniel Craig welcomed everyone to the meeting. Dr. Daniel Craig introduced new Commission member, Dr. Mylo Miller.

**Approval of Minutes from the August 16, 2017 Commission Meeting**: Mr. Day made a motion to approve the minutes of the August 16, 2017 Commission meeting as submitted. Mr. Brown seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler:approveDr. Hannaford:approveMr. Brown:approveDr. Miller:approveMr. Day:approveSecretary Shirley:absent

**Discussion and action on adoption of the proposed permanent rules- Chapter 10**. Ms. Bixler made a motion to approve the proposed permanent rules- Chapter 10 as presented. Mr. Brown seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler: approve Dr. Hannaford: approve Mr. Brown: approve Dr. Mylo Miller: approve Mr. Day: approve Secretary Shirley: absent

**Discussion and action on CEQA Meeting dates for 2018:** Mr. Brown made a motion to continue with the 3<sup>rd</sup> Wednesday of each month with the exceptions of March and December, meeting the 2<sup>nd</sup> Wednesday of those months. The starting time will be 1:30 pm. Meeting location will be at 840 Research Parkway, Suite 450, Oklahoma City 73104. Mr. Day seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler:approveDr. Hannaford:approveMr. Brown:approveDr. Miller:approveMr. Day:approveSecretary Shirley:absent

**Quality and Accountability program updates included:** Assessment, Accreditation, Education Leadership Oklahoma, Proposed rule revisions, and School Performance Review Activities.

**New Business:** None

**Announcements and Informational Items:** Dr. Craig announced there may not be a need for November or December meetings.

The meeting adjourned at 2:32 P.M. The minutes of the October 24, 2017 regular meeting of the Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability were approved (circle one)

	as submitted	with corrections	
on January 17, 2018.			
Signed:			
		_	
Dave Lopez C	'hairman	Dr. Daniel Craig, Executiv	e Director